Amsterdam Writers

Write first,

Ask questions later.

AMSTERDAM WRITERS believes that great writers, like dancers, musicians and athletes, only become great through dedication, work and regular practice.

Our workshops and seminars keep writers fit, healthy and strong through invigorating and stimulating exercises – all performed in a safe and supportive, inspiring environment.

Amsterdam Writers is a beautiful safe womb for creativity. I learned so much there about the craft of writing, but also about myself as a writer.

I looked forward to Wednesday nights with great anticipation and always felt exhilarated afterwards that I’d extended and stretched myself as an artist.

Kim Farrant

Director of 'Strangerland' with Nicole Kidman and 'Angel of Mine' with Noomi Rapace

Thank you for inspiring me and bringing writing back into my life.
Anastasia Volkhovskaya

Author of 'Letters to Eliza' and 'Take the Moon with You'

Matthew is an inspiring teacher: kind, enthusiastic and patient. His own creativity and passion coupled with a sincere desire to enable others is obvious in his teaching.

Christy Collins

Author of 'The End of Seeing' and 'The Price of Two Sparrows'

ALL WORKSHOPS CONDUCTED ONLINE, VIA ZOOM

6 WEEK WRITERS’ STRETCH & TONE

A workshop cycle for both advanced and beginner writers to stop thinking and start doing. Generate new work, revise old work, experiment with form and style and generally keep your writerly muscles fit – all in the good company of other like-minded writers.

This workshop repeats throughout the year as a place for writers to hone their craft by writing, and then writing some more. Whether you have a story or project already in process, or not, doesn’t matter. Writing suggestions in the sessions will always give you somewhere to start. Then it’s your choice whether you try out different forms, voices and styles in a new piece of writing, or whether you work on a pre-existing idea.

By the end of every workshop you will have created new work. You will also have heard some fellow participants read their new work out loud – and sometimes you may have read out loud yourself. (Reading is always optional.) What will always stay is that thinking, by itself, doesn’t produce writing. Writing produces writing.

Time is also made available, when requested, to read and analyse participant manuscripts – no matter their form. This might mean reviewing short stories and essays, at other times screenplay excerpts or works still finding their form. Feedback is given in two rounds. 1) What’s working? What’s already good in this manuscript? And 2) Are there any obstacles / confusions? Any ways to suggest improvement?

This workshop is an ideal opportunity for participants to both generate new work, and to revise previous work samples. At the end of 6 weeks we can’t guarantee you’ll win any writing races, but you’ll certainly have stronger writer muscles, and will be ready to take on new writing challenges.

Workshops in Amsterdam - Amsterdam Writers

SUMMER 2021 WRITERS’ STRETCH & TONE

6 Tuesdays: JUN 01 – JUL 06
10.00 – 12.30 pm (Los Angeles – PDT)
1.00 – 3.30 pm (New York – EDT)
19:00 – 21:30h (Amsterdam – CEST)

6 Wednesdays: JUN 02 – JUL 07
9.00 – 11.30 am (New York – EDT)
15:00 – 17:30h (Amsterdam – CEST)
17:00 – 19:30h (Dubai – GST)

6 Thursdays: JUN 03 – JUL 08
10:00 – 12:30h (Amsterdam – CEST)
4.00 – 6.30 pm (Perth – AWST)
6.00 – 8.30 pm (Sydney – AEST)

WORKSHOP LEADER: Matthew Curlewis

PRICE: €280 (incl. 21% VAT)

Each group limited to ten participants • Sessions will be conducted using Zoom • Each session will include a short 5-10 minute break • Participants are encouraged to write in session with pen and paper instead of digital device – if you might find this problematic, please just let us know.

 

Our registration process accepts secure payments through iDeal, PayPal and various credit cards.

TO ATTEND A WORKSHOP, PLEASE

Our registration process accepts secure payments through iDeal, PayPal and various credit cards.

TO ATTEND A WORKSHOP, PLEASE

Amsterdam Writers was founded in 2009 by Amsterdam-resident Australian, Matthew Curlewis. He wanted to provide writers with a workshop to attend in the same manner dancers, musicians and athletes attend ‘regular practice’.

Drawing on his diversely creative professional experience in performance, print and digital design, screenwriting, copywriting and journalism, he developed an 8 week cycle called Writers’ Stretch & Tone, which has been on offer ever since.

In 2005 in the USA, Matthew attended a workshop leader training led by Amherst Writers and Artists founder Pat Schneider, where he became certified in the AWA method, as described in Writing Alone & With Others by Pat Schneider, Oxford University Press.

He arrived at this work via two years attending Manhattan Writers and various writing groups in Provincetown, MA.

During 2006-08, prior to founding Amsterdam Writers, Matthew led creative writing and screenwriting workshops with Amsterdam-based literary collective wordsinhere.

Matthew became an AWA Affiliate in 2020.

Certified AWA - Amsterdam Writers
Write first,

Ask questions later.

Call us: +31 6 1429 7462Email us

AMSTERDAM WRITERS

 

BEURS VAN BERLAGE
DAMRAK 243
AMSTERDAM 1012 ZJ

CHAMBER OF COMMERCE: 34318191